Newsletter Archive: Open Air Preaching in Arkansas and Oklahoma 3/21/2006

For many years, the newsletters for Open Air Outreach were only published through email. Those newsletters were not posted online. We are now in the process of archiving these old newsletters online so that they are available to the body of Christ at large to read and be encouraged and edified by them.

The contents from this post was an email newsletter sent out on 3/21/2006

___________________________________

Open Air Preaching in Arkansas and Oklahoma
Jesse Morrell
Mar 21, 2006

This newsletter has no copy-right. Feel free to share it by printing it off or by forwarding it on.

South Eastern Oklahoma State, Durant

Bro Jeff reasoning and persuading with the students

We made a wrong turn somewhere on our way through Oklahoma and ended up near this campus. It very well might have been the Lord because we ended up having a great meeting there.

Oklahoma University, Norman

Oklahoma University, Norman 022

Oklahoma University, Norman 023

As you can see, this was one of our larger meetings.

University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond

Brother Miles preaching the Word

This was a cold and windy day, and we didn’t know if anyone would stop to hear the preaching or not. However Brother Miles was able to pull in a crowd for some time dispite the bad weather conditions.

Oklahoma State University, Stillwater

The Christians on campus praying over brother Jeff.

We went to this campus the Friday before Spring-Break, so were not able to get a crowd of sinners. However, the Christians on campus encouraged us and even laid hands on Bro Jeff for our future travels.

 University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Although we found out that a different campus preacher was on this very same campus, preaching in the very same area only a week before, we were still able to get the attention and interest of the students enough to have some rather large, long meetings.
University of Central Arkansas, Conway
University of Central Arkansas Conway
University of Central Arkansas, Conway
Here you can see some students reaching for our new tract called “The Sinning Saint” which has a picture of two baby angels on the cover smoking pot and drinking beer. Of coarse, it’s a tract against hypocricy.
University of Arkansas, Little Rock
Day 2 at UA Little ROck 005
_______________________________________________________
For a large selection of pictures from these cmuses, see the “College – Universities” section in the Photo Gallery of the website.
A WORD OF EXHORTATION TO FELLOW LABORERS

<DIVVery often a professing Christian will come up to us the first day we are preaching, sometimes the first hour, and say “So how many are getting saved?” or “How many got saved today?”

My response is simple: love is patient. We must be patient if we are to win souls. The bible teaches to preach in season and out of season which means whether it’s harvest time or plowing and planting time. God told Jeremiah to preach “whether they hear or whether they refuse”.

So I typically ask these impatient people, have you ever read the parable of the sower? A sower went out to sow seed, some fell on thorny ground, some on stoney ground, and some on good soil. So it is when we preach. There are a lot of thorny ground and stoney ground hearers, but there is also good soil. But even the good soil may take some time before it sprouts up and grows to bear fruit.

Our ministry is one of plowing, planting, watering, and harvesting. We do not expect a harvest every time. No wise farmer does and no wise soul winner does. Some plow, some plant, some water, but it is God who gives the increase.

So my encouragement to everyone who preaches the gospel, remember love is patient. You might preach for days, weeks, months, and years without seeing fruit. But your work is not in vain, God is pleased with his obedient servants, keep pushing the plow and sowing the seeds.

MINISTRY BREAKDOWN
Since the last newsletter we have preached to:
7 Universities
(South Eastern Oklahoma State, Durant; Oklahoma University, Norman; University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond; Oklahoma State University, Stillwater; University of Arkansas, Fayetteville; University of Central Arrkansas, Conway; University of Arkansas, Little Rock)
4 Times At Club Districts 
(Bricktown in Oklahoma, Dickson Street in Fayetteville Arkansas, Downtown Little Rock rkansas)
2 States
(Oklahoma, Arkansas) 
1 Parade</FONT< STRONG>
(A St. Patricks Day Parade in Arkansas) 
 

1 Campus Tv Program

DIV align=left>(Brother Jeff was interviewed for the campus TV program at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.)

___________________________________________________
COLLEGE CAMPUS PAPERS
The South Eastern: TRAVELING PREACHERS VISIT CAMPUS:
The Oklahoma Daily: PREACHERS BRING FIRE, BRIMESTONE:
The Flare: CONFRONTATIONAL MINISTERS DESCEND ON CAMPUS:
QUOTES FROM CHRISTIANS AND HECKLERS
No! She curses like a sailer
KILGORE COLLEGE:
“I don’t think you are crazy. I think that a lot of what you guys are saying is true.” Karen, Student at Kilgore College
“Keep pressing on, run the race, and fight the good fight.” A Christian Student at Kilgore
TEEN MANIA MINISTRIES
“Thank you for speaking to us. I had actually been fasting and praying when God told me to go and eat. I went to the cafeteria and when I was about to leave, someone stood up and said that you would be teaching. It was really good because I had been praying for unsaved friends, and I had no idea how to wintess to them. So thanks!” Laurie
“Wow… praise God for your efforts to win souls for Christ!!!! That is great you had the boldness to step out and do something. So many of us sometimes sit and criticize others who are trying without even stepping out of the closet ourselves.” Gary

“I don’t care what others say. I commend you guys for going out and fulfilling what God has called you to do. Keep up the great work… and let us know if there is anything we can pray for you about.” Joe
</FONT?< SPAN SPAN<>

SOUTH EASTERN OKLAHOMA STATE UNIVERSITY

“I really like what y’all are doing. You’re really sticking your necks out there to talk about what’s right and what’s wrong. Glad there’s someone out thre doing something about it.”
-Bubba Pingleton, Science Education major.
“I like what you’re doing. It’s really stirring the bucket.”
– Clifford Cox, Msic Education major.

 

OKLAHOMA UNIVERSITY, NORMAN
&ampbsp;
“I appreciate what ya’ll are doing.” Rebecca, Freshmen – Human Relations Major.

“I think it’s great and it got a lot of people involved who otherwise would not have been. It made me as a Christian want more knowledge of the scriptures.” Blaze, Sophmore – Psychology Major

“I think this is a good idea because like the Apostles, when they preached they ran into trouble. This is the best group that we’ve had.” Meghan, Professional Writing Major.

“I think you guys did a lot of good today.” A Christian Student.

OKLAHOMA STATE UNIVERSITY, STILLWATER
“Keep it up, Keep spreading the good news.” Brian
A Christian who came out with us to this campus wrote on a message board, “We exhort you when these young men are in town to preach and teach near you, show up and support them as a brother or sister in Christ. We were blessed by being with them.” Elizabeth
“You did a good job.” A Random Christian Girl

 
UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS, FAYETTEVILLE
“I just wanted to thank you guys for coming out here. I know you don’t get many compliments. I apologize for the behavior of the other students here. It’s just great that you guys are out here. It makes me proud to be a Christian. Keep doing what you guys do.” J. B. Sophomore, Bussiness Management Major
“It’s great what ya’ll are doing. I praise God for it.” Random Christian Student
“You are con-men. God is spitting on you and saying ‘repent you peices of s**t.” An Angry Heckler
“He’s not cray. He’s jst an impasaionate nut-job.” Heckler from Crowd
“You guys really encouraged my faith.” Benjamin. Sophomore. Architectural Major
I actually really like your sign. I like it a lot.” Jeremiah regarding our “Repent” Sign
“Thank you for coming to Arkansas. I enjoyed listening to you three today. Your knowledge of the bible and courage is impressive. I’ll be raying for you guys.” Benjamin
UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL ARKANSAS, CONWAY

I pray that you guys get saved.” Brenna, a professing Christian

 
“It looks like there are a lot of unsaved people here. I like what ya’ll are doing. It sounds like he’s preaching straight from the bible. Therere a lot of people ere who think that they are saved but are not…you guys should probably come here more often and do this.” Blake, A Christian Student
“Oh, you are here until Friday? Good, that gives me enough time to protest you guys.” Sara, A Professing Christian
“The crowds hatred grieves me. You will be blessed for this. I’m sorry. Your Brother.” A note from A Christian
“In class, this is all we were talking about. I like what ya’ll are doing. I like how ya’ll go about it. I was listening to you earlier and agreed with all of it, cause I’m a Christian.” Hunter, a Christian Freshmen
“You guys are coming back tommorow?” Asked a student in the crowd. “Yes” the preacher responded as roars and cheers of joy erupted from the crowd!! (We are the preachers they love to hate.)
“You guys are better then MTV.” Random Student
“He’s gonna preach. You don’t want to miss this!” Random Student
“Ya’ll three are false prophets.” None Of Your Bussiness
“His beliefs are better then everyone elses.” Tommy, A Student
“I don’t care what anyone else says, I appreciate what ya’ll are doing and your courage.” Codey, A Pastors Kid
“I could even murder you right now and still go to heaven.” A Professing Christian

UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS, LITTLE ROCK
“Yo could be good person and a Christian and still have great sex with the one that you love…God wants you to have sex.” Professing Christian Girl
“I just want you to konw that I agree with everything you said, and don’t stop doing it. Do it every chance you have. God will bless you for it…You guys preach like John the Baptist…when you go to the bars tonight give it to them with both barrels!” Lesie Charles Walker
“hey guys, mucho respect from me,
I listened a bit to you at ualr today…I consider myself to be a christian and not lacking in the confidence department, but I don’t think that I would have the confidence to do what you do, God bless you and keep the faith brothers!” A Christian on Campus
ENCOURAGING LETTERS
Here are two very encouraging letters all from students from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville:
Here is an email:
Hello,

I am a student at the University of Arkansas. Yesterday several men frm your group visited our campus and preached near the student union. As I was walking from class, I heard someone speaking loudly and then looked over and saw someone holding a sign that, in large letters, said REPENT! My first thought was, “great another bunch of fanatics calling all the college students drunks and sleepers and threatening them will hell-fire and brimstone.” Now, I am a Christian and I love Jesus Christ with all my heart. My father is an elder in our church. This campus gets lots and lots of people to preah outdoors. And every one of themthat I have listened to up until now has been hateful and preached a “turn or burn” style message – basically a message that only served to further push students from a relationship with Christ. The message I heard yesterday, however, was different.

I went in to the Union and got some coffee and came back outside to sit and drink it and listen to what the people were saying. To my great suprise hey were not spe?king with hatred and condescension but with a sense of love for the students. As I continued to listen, I realized that everything they were preaching, all the points that they had were all truth! All based in the word, and strongly supported by the quoting of scripture. I thought it was soo important and awesome that they preached a messageof being free from our sins because most college students who dont know Christ, see the Bible as full of restrictions and rules, when in truth it is their own sin that will restrict and bind them. All in all I listened to them from 11:00am until about 2:30pm. I was ashamed to see students from the University treat them the way that they did – cursing at them, yelling profanities, and even making very obscene sexual gestures. I have to tell you what though, I was so proud of the way that the ministers handled it all. They truly were Christ-like.

Well, thank you for reading this long email. I was just so impacted by their visit that I thought I should email youand tell you what an awesome ministry yu have and o keep it up. Your ministers that were here yesterday taught the word of Christ in the spirit of Christ, and I would like to encourage them o keep it up.

In Him,

Justin

Here is another:
I just wanted to thank you all personally for coming to The University of Arkansas. I hope many people, other than myself, got atleast some of your message. I hope the rest of your trip goes well, and if you guys happen to pass by Arkansas again, I owe you lunch! I do want to thank you all again. You got me thinking about my faith, and how badly I want to restore it. I do not know how to thank you for that. I needed to realize that the horrible things that have happened to me should not be held against God. Thank you! 

Jessiy

WORKING DAY SHIFT AN NIGHT SHIFT

Report For Brick-Town Oklahoma City:

Even the bartender for a club said to us. “I can tell that you guys are really trying to help people.”

A Christian brother, Tony Holland said his about the night:

“We then moved down into thebar/nightclub area. Jesse, Miles and Jeff took turn doing something that I never really thought about doing (or maybe was too chicken ) They set up on the public sidewalk 10 feet away from the line to get into the busiest club in Bricktown (Citywalk) and preached with great concern and urgency for the people to realize their sin, realize that they were going to a sinful place, and to leave, repent and put their faith in Jesus Christ. Their method of preaching was different than what I was used to and it wa a blessing to be able to sit and listen for a while. It was funny at times, convicting and packed with the love of Christ. Some people were angry, and watching the crowd, some people were very convicted, some even threw condoms filled with water from the roof (I’m pretty sure) of Citywalk which is 7 stories tall.”

The Full Report from Brother Tony is available at: http://openairoutreach.proboards52.com/index.cgi?board=openairpreaching&action=display&thread=114293994&page=1

VIDEOS
We have some new, brief video footage of Oklahoma University, Norman. Bro. Jesse was able to reason and persuade concerning the ever popular world-vie – moral/relgious relativism.
These both can be found at: http://newenglandoutreach.com/video/
SupportTextBox

HOW YOU CAN HELP SUPPORT

The financial support we receive from the body of Christ makes it possible for us to continue to travel and preach the Gospel full time.

All personal gifts from $5 -$500, either monthly or one-time, makes a huge difference.

Will you consider being a monthly supporter, giving as little or as much as you can?

Paypal: Click Here

Physical Mail:

Jesse & Krista Morrell

P.O. Box 1527

Lindale TX, 75771

Special thanks in advance to our supporters.

THE BATTLE IS ON! We couldn’t do all of this without you!

Visit Our Website: Click Here
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

