Newsletter Archive: Police Ticket Street Preacher – 12/15/2004

For many years, the newsletters for Open Air Outreach were only published through email. Those newsletters were not posted online. We are now in the process of archiving these old newsletters online so that they are available to the body of Christ at large to read and be encouraged and edified by them.

The contents from this post was an email newsletter sent out on 12/15/2004

This newsletter has no copy-right.
Feel free to share it by forwarding it on or by printing it off.
Praize Report 12-15-04
By Jesse Morrell
http://www.openairoutreach.com

Everything in these Praize Reports is not copyrighted
Forward it, print it off, spread it around!

Quick Highlights
1) Update: Finally!! Full-time evangelism ministry!!
2) Adventure Story: Wildest Witnessing Yet!
3) Article: The Help of the Holy Spirit

1) Finally!! Full-time Ministry!!
I have recently been hired by The Great News Network and will start around May. Although currently I am with Teen Mania Ministries, being mentored by Ron Luce the President and Founder, as soon as I am done with my commitment here I will be moving to Dallas.

I have been praying for full-time ministry for years now and it is finally
here. The desire of my heart and the vision I feel I have received from God
has been to not only preach the gospel, but to raise up laborers to do so.
However, I never found a ministry that did this the way I felt lead to do
it, until G.N.N. came along. Although I will have other responsibilities,
primarily I will be leading teams of christians on the streets to share
their faith! This is so wonderful, I can’t even begin to write how excited I
am. God is so good.
2) Wildest Witnessing Yet! – December 11-12, 2004
This past adventure out on the streets has been the wildest I have ever had.
Let me say this, I left Garden Valley with a team to witness in Dallas. At
the time I had a car and a sound box. When I returned home I had no car, no
sound box, and another $330 citation in my pocket. Let me tell you the full
story.
Roughly 15 or so of us all met together at 9pm and headed to Deep Ellum in
Dallas for street ministry. We arrived in Deep Ellum around 11:30 and found
a paid parking lot. We decided to simply take some tracts, gospels of John,
a one step stool to preach on, a sound box to help our voices, and our
bibles.
After spending some more time in prayer, we went outside a very popular,
busy club to preach. Some went to do some prayer walking, while myself and
others stayed there to preach open-air. I started and preached the Law and
grace for everyone standing in the line to get into the club. A crowd also
gathered right in front of me to listen as well.
Eventually the cops came and tried to give me a hard time. They said if I
attract a crowd again then they will arrest me and bring me to jail. I told
them that I will simply preach for everyone in the line and if a crowd
blocks the sidewalk I will ask them to leave. So I stood up and preached
again for the line, and maybe one minute later a cop came and said “Ok, now your getting the citation.” What is messed up is that there was no crowd (besides the line for the club) and the sidewalk was still clear! They gave me a raw deal. However this is simply apart of the life God has chosen for me and I willingly accept it. Then, they took my sound box away and said I can pick it up at the station.
This has been happening every time I go out, in every location I go to! When
I am in Connecticut it happens, when i am In Texas It happens. During the
day, during the night. When I am alone, when I am with others. When I
attract a crowd, when I attract no crowd. When I have a sound box, when I
have no sound box. It doesn’t seem to matter. I can’t think of a time I have
gone out to preach in the past 8 months that did not involve the police some
how. Why!! I talk to other Christians who do street ministry and they don’t
have these problems, at least not every time they go out and witness. Is the Lord testing my faithfulness? Well, I can’t stop preaching. That is simply
not an option. Hopefully this season of hardship and suffering will pass
soon, but it may only be beginning. Either way, may the Lord be magnified.
After preaching to the line waiting to get into the club, with no amp, I
decided to give away the tracts and the gospels. In almost no time at all I
had given away maybe 150 tracts and 50 or so gospels of John. Some of which ended up on the crowd, most of which ended up in the pockets of those who will wake up sober and then be clear headed enough to read it.
I was some what frustrated with some of the Christians that came out with me because it seemed I was the only one actually witnessing. ( Yes I know they are probably reading this right now, but that may be good. I do love you all dearly). They were either praying or having conversations with each other. I am not against praying, but that is something that should have gotten done before we went out. We were out to “preach the gospel to every creature” and it seemed I was the only one doing that. Prayer should be done in our secret closets. Prayer is private while preaching is public. I talked to one of them, a friend I love dearly, and asked him why he even came out there. He said that he will preach when it turns 2am, when all the clubs close and the streets get flooded.
This is where it got even crazier. I decided to take a walk and see if I
could find a place to preach open-air that didn’t have so much music
blasting. There was this one spot that also gave me plenty of room to walk
around. Being very animated helps get the attention of the crowd so I had
plenty of room to do that. I preached against sin and against sinners. Using
biblical vocabulary, I preached the truth hot and heavy. I certainly had the
attention of the people and drew a nice crowd. There were some hecklers and some sincere listeners. One man tried to snatch my bible out of my hand so we got into a tug of war over it. Then a “STAFF” person from the club/bar thing jumped in and pulled the man away! He was awesome! I thank God for that man. We did get allot of this open-air on film and will try to make it available at my website ASAP. http://www.openairoutreach.com
My friend preached when it became 2am, then I preached again. It was a time of anointing preaching. We did nothing but preach and yet the people stopped there on the sidewalk and listened and asked questions. It was definitely blessed of the Lord and I am confident we were in the will of God despite the police harassment and even the swearing and cursing of the sinners against us. Those things must be expected, but never feared.
Then, when we went back to find my car in the parking lot, which we paid to
park in, all we found was shattered glass on the pavement. NO CAR! My car
had been broken into and stolen. It had a scriptural bumper sticker on it
saying “Nay, I tell you the truth, unless you repent you will all likewise
perish.” It is possible that that is why my car was stolen. Maybe, maybe
not.
So in this one night, my sound box was taken, I received another citation
which means another court case, someone tried to steal my bible, and my car was stolen completely. I suppose the devil realized that he would have to take away my transportation because I will not stop going out and preaching, despite any persecution. He must have figured that is what it would have to take. I made some phone calls and found a ride back home for us all so it did work out.
All together this night cost me roughly $3,000! But you know what? PRAISE
GOD! My treasure is not on earth. The Lord gives and the Lord takes away.
These things are all fading away anyways! It is my privilege to be apart of
The Fellowship of His Sufferings. This ministry is always a blessing and
should never be a burden.
The best part of it all, is that the people heard the gospel. There were
those who sincerely thanked me for preaching and those who were strongly
considering everything that was preached. I am confident in God and stand in expectation of what He is going to do in their lives. I hope all of you will
stand in expectation as well. Please continue to pray for this ministry. The
opposition and hardships seem to be increasing. The Lords will be done.
Whatever it takes, these people must hear the gospel. We must be unmovable and unshakeable. These people need Jesus, and if we as Christians don’t preach the truth, who will? I pray you all be encouraged at what God is doing and will go out and witness for yourselves. God is good.
3) The Help of the Holy Spirit
By Jesse Morrell
This article is non-copyrighted
Others are available at: http://www.openairoutreach.com
Life, with all its many vanities can be so overwhelmingly and desperately
empty. There are vanities on the left of us and there are vanities on the
right of us. They can be found in front of us and in back of us. But is
there a greater vanity this side of eternity then to preach a message,
supposedly of God, that in reality is completely void and without the help
of the Holy Spirit? To sing out of tune or without a melody is quite an
awful noise and can hardly be tolerated by sensible ears, and yet churches
all over the world are full of those who tolerate listening to sermons week
after week that have absolutely no anointing or touch from God in them at
all. Preachers spout out their own words and their own thoughts and wonder
why we go without the power of God. If God is not in the end, it may be
because He wasn’t in the means.
The first foundation truth any preacher must learn is that to preach without
the anointing of the Holy Spirit is not preaching at all. It is vain
utterances and useless ramblings. If God is not in a message, a preacher
must not deliver the message. The words of men do not produce the effect and the fruit which the Lord desires. It is the words of God that speaks into
the darkness and produces the light, the words of God which calms the
storms, the words of God that raises Lazarus from the dead, and the word of
God that pierces and slays the hearts of men with godly sorrow leading to
repentance. I believe that one of the greatest sermons John Knox ever
preached was when He didn’t preach at all. He told his congregation on one
occasion to go home because he didn’t have a word for them from the Lord.
If more preachers were as honest and sincere in their labors as John Knox was, our churches would be quite empty every Sunday. Preachers are so caught up in the presence of men, how could they be caught up in the presence of God to get a message?A man may be a great communicator or a great orator without the Holy Spirit, but he can never be a great preacher. You’re leaning on a broken cane with a pointed edge if you lean on your own understanding. Only God’s design or ministerial purposes can bring about God glory as adequately as He deserves.
If we dare to perform ministry simply the way we desire or see fit in our
own eyes, which ends up being outside of the will of the Lord, then God will
never, and can never, be glorified in it. The foundation of the Holy Spirit
in our ministries is of such importance that without Him in our ministries
our ministries cannot stand and will come to nothing, in reality revealing
what many of them truly are; nothing.
There are thousands of preachers all over the world standing up on Sunday
and are preaching messages that do not have the anointing of the Spirit. Are
they not also like whitewashed tombs? With their polished words and eloquent vocabulary, and yet are barren in the Spirit. Genesis sets the pattern; everything gives birth to its own kind. And dead preachers give birth to dead converts. To give birth to death is such a horrifying concept. This
clearly is not of God and must be hated by all who love life. One has to wonder how many sermons a man can preach without the help of the Holy Spirit in it at all. Although I cannot think of any preacher who would set out to make sure that he preaches without the help of the Holy Spirit; I know that there are those who do not set out to make sure that they have His help. That is where the problem is.
The absolute necessity of having the Holy Spirit
I can see in my minds eye the average preacher, consumed with preparing his message as well as his many other responsibilities, that he pushed prayer aside or at least cuts short God’s time with him. Only then to deliver the average sermon which lacks the anointing of God that comes only through the Spirit. Jesus fasted for forty days before he preached his first sermon which had him nearly thrown off a cliff. There was power in His preaching! Jonathon Edwards fasted for days before he preached “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God” which shook the very depths of his congregation, the end result of which was revival.
There is no substitute for the Holy Spirit in our preaching. The Lord
Himself did not preach without the Holy Spirit being upon Him. Christ
declared “the Spirit of the Lord is upon Me, because He has anointed Me to
preach the gospel”. I have to wonder how many preachers would be speaking
the truth if they said that today. Sure God may have called them to preach,
but have they allowed the Holy Spirit to minister to them the truth which
they must minister to others? It is all too possible to write and preach a
sermon without the help of the Holy Spirit and have nobody in the audience
even notice or slightly suggest it. In the busyness of the preacher he must
never neglect searching, waiting, and longing for a message that is straight
from the throne room of God. We can get caught up in books and tapes when we need to be caught up in God. It’s said of the old puritan preachers that
they would spend six days a week in eternity and then would come down into time one day a week to tell the people about it. Men who walk with God will know God and those who know their God will do great and powerful exploits for Him. But those preachers who do not walk closely with God will do great damage to the Kingdom. Even their gain will be considered loss when the fire comes to their works. Unless the Lord builds the house, the house can not stand. And how terrible it will be for those standing inside that house!
Preachers have a great responsibility to God who entrusted them with the
ministry, and to the men who trust them enough to be fed by them.
John the Baptist had the Holy Spirit in his preaching. In fact, John was
full of the Holy Spirit since birth! He “was a man sent from God”. If that
is not what we need today, then I don’t know what we need. The church and
the world are in a desperate drought of preachers who enter into the pulpit
after being in the presence of God. But John was “The voice of one crying in
the wilderness: make straight the way of the Lord.” If ever we lived in a
wild time, we live in a wild time now. And if ever we need voices, not
echoes, who will declare the straight and narrow way, we need them today!
It was Moses who dared not move without the presence of the Lord. And
because of this desperate dependency which Moses had upon God, and refused to move unless the Lord moved, “the skin of his face shone while he talked with” his people. Because the early Methodist churches had no heating devices, they used to say that the fire from the preacher would have to suffice to keep everyone warm. We need preachers today who refuse to do anything without the Lord going with them, who shine with the glory of God after being lavished in His presence, and will burn and be consumed by the fires of the Holy Spirit.
The power that comes in having the Holy Spirit
The surest sign that preachers are preaching without the help and favor of
the Holy Spirit is the lack of power that there is in our meetings to
convict, convert, and cleanse the spirits and hearts of men from “the lust
of the flesh, the lust of the eye, and the pride of life”. Those who fill
our churches sit in their seats year after year and do not grow spiritually.
It is in the very nature of a plant to grow, and it is in the very nature of
those who are genuinely born-again to grow in grace. If Gods hand and help
were in these meetings, His power would be in them too. But sinners are not
being lead safely and soundly in the pathways of purity as we have seen are
possible from the examples of the past. The hearts of men are not being
gripped with fear at the reality of the anger of God and the existence of
hell. So why would they ever follow the command to “work out your own
salvation with fear and trembling”? Our people aren’t afraid and trembling
at our altar calls. They may be weeping because they feel they are victims
and have been miss treated, but not because they have been made aware that they are criminals and have been mistreating Christ and His blood. Our
preachers do not “save with fear, pulling them out of the fire” and so the
masses utterly perish without as much as a helping hand from most of the
church.
These are indeed hard truths, and that is exactly why our hearts must be
broken. I take no pleasure at all saying that many of our preachers are
“serving themselves. They are clouds without water, carried about by the
winds; late autumn trees without fruit, twice dead , pulled up by the roots;
raging waves of the sea, foaming up their own shame; wandering stars for
whom is reserved the blackness of darkness forever.” What a serious offense
and crime it is to stand in the pulpit, where nothing but what is from God
should be declared, and speaking anything which the Lord has not said.
So much of what is preached on TV, in conferences, and in churches is soft
and smooth and easy for anyone to take and believe. Not even sinners object to the messages certain preachers preach today. Yet the way Paul preached when he was full of the Holy Spirit was nothing of the sort. Who would be daring enough to be biblical and follow in Paul footsteps? It says in Acts 13:8-10 “But Elymas the sorcerer (for so his name is translated) withstood them, seeking to turn the proconsul away from the faith. Then Saul, who also is called Paul, filled with the Holy Spirit, looked intently at him and said, ‘O full of all deceit and all fraud, you son of the devil, you enemy of all righteousness, will you not cease perverting the straight ways of the Lord? And now, indeed, the hand of the Lord is upon you, and you shall be blind, not seeing the sun for a time.’ And immediately a dark mist fell on him, and he went around seeking someone to lead him by the hand.” Paul, who was once blinded by the power of God, also blinded another with the power of God. Now let’s think about this. Would the current church be fond of Paul if he were alive today and pulled something like that? When were you last in a church service where you heard the pastor calling people sons of the devil or enemies of all righteousness? Or when did you hear a preacher preach as James did when he said “cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded.” That wouldn’t due in our time. Preachers like that would be kicked out of churches in our day just as these men were kicked out of the temples in their own.
The partnership and relationship that the preacher has with the Holy Spirit
is so intricately and intimately woven together that they must never be
divorced. Christ said, that when the helper comes (the Holy Spirit) “he will
reprove the world of sin, and of righteousness, and of judgment” Then we see how Paul, full of the Holy Spirit, ministered “concerning the faith of Jesus Christ” when “he reasoned about righteousness, self-control, and the
judgment to come”. And so we see how the Holy Spirit confirms the preacher,
and the preacher confirms the Holy Spirit. They work hand in hand, running
perfectly parallel each other. A preacher must get his words from the Holy
Spirit, or he must not preach at all.
The point is that with the help of the Holy Spirit there is power and
without His help ministry is futile all together! God has the power to make
people blind, and the power to make people see! There is no need to fear if
you find that you have no power within yourself. If you felt adequate enough
to look to yourself, you would see no need to look up to God. If you can’t
imagine God using you, take comfort because our God is a God of miracles!
If it wasn’t for that truth, not much would get done for the Kingdom. The power of the Holy Spirit obviously does not come from us, but it comes only
through the Holy Spirit Himself. Anything else is a passing shadow, a dim
reflection, or an ungodly counterfeit. We have had enough shadows, mere
reflections, and counterfeits! It’s time for the real deal. Many, although
it hurts to say, have not “preached the gospel…by the Holy Spirit sent from
heaven”. It may be an unpleasant thought, but it is far greater then that.
It is a deadly reality!
The importance of having the Holy Spirit
The importance of having Gods help in our preaching cannot be adequately
expressed. It is not only greatly important, but it is incredibly vital, that is, if we truly want our ministering to matter. The greatest importance
of it would be for guidance. Our world is drowning in heresies and falsehood
today because many preachers are not being lead by the Spirit of God. Many
ministries are full of heresies, blasphemies, and trickery.
Some time ago while I was attempting to find something wholesome on the
television, I stopped clicking around to listen to a television preacher on
a secular channel. I soon found out why he was allowed on secular
television, his sermon was called “How to never be hurt again”. Then he gave
six or so steps that you can take in order to “never be hurt again”. A
painless life! How wonderful! How amazing! How awesome! And yet, how false and unrealistic for Christians or any man for that matter. Making money off lies is big business today. All you have to do is become an itching ear
preacher, telling everyone what they want to hear, and you can be driving
around in a fancy car, wearing the most expensive suits, and wearing
expensive watches. However Jesus, who had to borrow a donkey to make his big appearance in Jerusalem, knew nothing of this painless life. Christ was “a man of sorrows, acquainted with grief”. Dying an agonizing and torturous
death on a cross after a ministry of rejection is far from the picture that
this TV preacher was painting. Maybe Jesus should have known these “six easy steps”. Then he could have taught his disciples and the majority of them wouldn’t have gone to jail and died the death of martyrs. Many thoughts occurred to me while watching this false teacher. Did he know the bible? Did he know God? Does he really follow in the footsteps of the “man of sorrows”?
How could he preach like this? Why don’t we ever hear a message on TV on
“How to never go to Hell”? Its one hard, life taking step: being born-again.
When these preachers become lead by the Holy Spirit, they will start
preaching repentance. On another occasion I was attending a youth event where there was a well known “prophet”, or so he called himself. This man even trained and studied under the ministry of another well known pastor and author who has thousands flocking to him every weekend here in America. This “prophet” did a great performance on stage. He was a great entertainer, running around and yelling and doing what they do. Everyone was wiled up as he preached a message on being in the presence of God. He said, “If you are in the presence of God then you will be blessed, your family will be blessed, your friends will be blessed, even your little dog at home will be blessed.” Then after preaching an entire message on blessing which never mentioned hell, judgment, sin, repentance, or even the name of Jesus Christ our Lord, this self proclaimed prophet gave an altar call. His altar call went like this: “If you want to be blessed, if you want your family to be blessed, if you want your friends to be blessed, if you simply want your dog to be blessed, come to this altar so I can pray for you.” Who could turn down an altar call like that? Not many because thousands rushed to the altar.
This is when the worst manipulation came into play. What did he have the
people do when they came to get a blessing? He led them in “the sinner’s
prayer”. But these people didn’t come to repent! These people didn’t come to
be born-again! These people didn’t come to “flee from the wrath that’s to
come”! They came so God would bless them and bless everyone they know.
The first time that this man mentioned the name of Jesus was in the “sinner’s prayer”. If you don’t preach a message on the gospel and on repentance, you have no right to give an altar call! I watched all this happen and it seemed as though I was the only one disturbed by it in the entire conference! Those who put on the conference must have thought to themselves, “Wow look at how successful and anointed this man is! Look at how God is blessing this mans ministry! Look at all those people getting saved! We better book him for our next event.” But I watched as thousands left the altar believing God is now going to let them into heaven, when in reality, God is going to bind them hand and foot and cast them into everlasting flames. How bitter those people will be when they enter back into a fallen world of hardships, pains, sufferings, and death. How eternally angry they will be with that man when they one day awake in the other world to face their punishment for the sins they’ve never turned from. I wouldn’t want to be that “prophet” even for a second on judgment day.
It was in the days of Jeremiah the prophet when he declared repentance
towards God, least Israel be taken captive into Babylon, while the other
prophets declared “peace, peace! When there is no peace”. Many preachers
today are telling thousand upon thousands that they have peace with God,
when they have no peace. They are still enemies of all righteousness and
enemies of God. Jeremiahs message was “amend your ways and your doings and I will let your dwell in this place.” Today, our message must be that of our Lords, “unless you repent, you will all likewise perish.” Jeremiahs message was so strong and yet perceived as so strange because of the messages of the other prophets. Salt preachers look odd when compared to sugar preachers. But just as in Jeremiahs day, the Lord has not sent these prophets who declare “peace, peace! When there is no peace.” Preachers would preach truth, if they were in tune with the “Spirit of Truth”.
Because many preachers do not know God, they do not preach the truth of God. Many aren’t even talking about the biblical Jesus when they preach about Jesus. “The many Jesus today are soppy, sentimental, and self-serving.” Art Katz has said. We are so far removed from the truth that the Spirit of Truth is so far removed from us! Here is a revelation for some of you preachers: when the bible says what a man sows he shall surely reap, it is not talking about money! In context that scripture is referring to the wrath of God! Although God may bless your giving, I have never heard that scripture used in context. We have twisted, corrupted, and manipulated the bible to make it as “seeker sensitive” and as sinner friendly as possible.
2 Timothy 4:2-5: “Preach the word! Be ready in season and out of season.
Convince, rebuke, exhort, with all longsuffering and teaching. For the time
will come when they will not endure sound doctrine, but according to their
own desires, because they have itching ears, they will heap up for themselves teachers; and they will turn their ears away from the truth, and
be turned aside to fables. But you be watchful in all things, endure
afflictions, do the work of an evangelist, fulfill your ministry.” Yes, many
are not lead of the Spirit, but let that never be said of us. Yes, many are
lead by other spirits preaching lies. But as for us, we must be lead of the
Holy Spirit and preach the truth
The solution is in essence this: we must know the scriptures and we must
know the Spirit. If we know the scriptures, then we must preach the
scriptures. If we know the Spirit, then we must be lead of the Spirit.
Preaching is far too great of a responsibility to be treated lightly. So
before a man enters a pulpit or ministers to another he must be well rooted
in the scriptures and well rooted in God. Until a man is like that, he must
never preach. I fear that preaching without the Holy Spirit is so common and
unrecognized while the dangers of such a scenario are so immeasurable, so
unthinkable, and so unconceivable, we will never see this catastrophe for
what it truly is until we reach the Judgment Seat and all things are made
known. God forbid that we wait until it is too late and can do nothing about
it when we can do something about it now.

SupportTextBox

HOW YOU CAN HELP SUPPORT

The financial support we receive from the body of Christ makes it possible for us to continue to travel and preach the Gospel full time.

All personal gifts from $5 -$500, either monthly or one-time, makes a huge difference.

Will you consider being a monthly supporter, giving as little or as much as you can?

Paypal: Click Here

Physical Mail:

Jesse & Krista Morrell

P.O. Box 1527

Lindale TX, 75771

Special thanks in advance to our supporters.

THE BATTLE IS ON! We couldn’t do all of this without you!

Visit Our Website: Click Here

Grey Banner

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

