Sinner (Kyle Douglas) Pulls a Gun on Campus Preacher Jesse Morrell

 photo NewHeader_zps7adacaac.jpg
This newsletter has no copy-right.
Feel free to share it by forwarding it on or by printing it off.

UPDATE FROM THE ROAD

Since this semester began we have preached the gospel in nine different states (Minnesota, Iowa, Michigan, Indiana, Kentucky, Tennessee, Missouri, Georgia, and Texas.) A full report on all those outreaches will be posted in the future. But I wanted to send out this quick report:

I had a sinner on campus pull a gun on me today. I found out his name is Kyle Douglas of Hawkins TX.

I was on Tyler Junior College preaching today with a group of brethren preaching the Word of God.

I noticed that there was a student who picked up one of our banners that was rolled up on the ground and started checking it out. When a brother confronted him he dropped it.

He then went and found my tripod on the ground and picked it up. When I confronted him he let it go.

At that point I noticed that my camera bag with my camera and microphone system was missing. I went and confronted him again and said, “Where did my camera go?” He grinned at me and said, “I don’t know.” At that point I said, “Did you take my camera? What’s in your back pack?”

At that point he shoved me and said, “You wanna go? Let’s go!” And he put his hands up to fist fight. Other students pulled him away.

After things calmed down a bit I put down the tripod I again confronted him and said, “Who took my camera?” But as I entered the crowd, other students began shoving me around like a ping bong ball! At that point, I already had my expensive camera stolen and was assaulted, now I was being shoved around by more people, so I was rather angry. I lifted up my hands in frustration and left the crowd. At that point he decided to leave without saying a word.

Knowing that he wanted to leave because my camera was in his back pack, I followed him just a little ways into the parking lot next to where we were preaching, again asking him, “Where is my camera? What’s in your back pack?” I didn’t want him to get away with the goods. He opened the passenger door to his truck and I saw him put into the truck a small black bag the same size as my camera bag. He then pulled out a gun and turned it on me! (Note that he opened the passenger door to his truck. Evidently he was not trying to leave but only to escalate the situation] He said, “You want something from me? I got something for you.” I said, “I’m done here.” When I saw that gun pointed at me, I had all these thoughts about my wife and kids! I thought, “Forget the camera. I need to get home to my family!”

There was a crowd of students who had followed me and when I turned to leave they were there and blocked my path. They shoved me back toward Kyle Douglas pointing the gun at me. I again attempted to leave and they let me go. Thank God I wasn’t shot!

I took out my phone and quickly took a picture of his license plate. It turns out that the Chevy truck belongs to his girlfriend April Dawn Franks. I then walked straight to the Police. A photographer followed me and kept accusing me of assaulting that man. That was a complete lie and I said I never laid a finger on him. But that same photographer had been a heckler all day long who hated my preaching.

At the campus station all the Police were gone. They were apparently called to the scene where he initially shoved me. My other preaching friends were there and they said when the cops got there they were just making fun of them.

So I called the city Police and told them somebody stole my camera on city property and then pulled a gun on me on campus. When the city Officer arrived he said, “I know you. You are the guy who is always causing problems around here.” He was speaking very condescending and irritated. All the Officers were smiling and laughing at me. I said, “I have never done anything illegal. Are you going to discriminate against me because I am a preacher? a Christian?” I then asked, “Is it legal to have a gun on campus?” A campus officer, who in the past admitted to me that he hates Jesus Christ, said, “That’s a stupid question.” I said, “No, I’m serious. I don’t know. Was it illegal for him to have a gun on campus?” At that point the city Officer started acting professional and took my report.

I gave them the Texas license plate number [BWY-8167] and showed them the picture of the truck. It was a dark Chevy pick up truck. I expected that they would maybe have Police look for that vehicle right away, pull him over, search the truck and find my camera and the gun. But they didn’t do that. They took my report, said that they were going to pursue the aggravated assault charge, was going to look over the campus video footage the security had, and a detective would get back to me in maybe a few days…

Pray for this situation. Pray that they find the guy and maybe even the camera. I assume it will probably be pawned sometime today. Pray that the man repents and that the other students repent of their sins as well.

I am now fundraising for a new video camera. A camera is an essential part of our ministry. We film our outreaches and put them on YouTube because that helps us in raising up other laborers. And because I deal with the Police on a regular basis I need to film our conversations with them.

Now that my campus preaching tour across the states is over for the semester, I was going to focus on video production. I want to make high quality videos to equip believers in evangelism and theology. The camera I had was a Sony SR11 which cost me about $1,000 a few years ago. I also had a lapel microphone system by audio technical that cost me about $150. That’s a ministry loss of about $1,150 from today. Its a pretty big set back for our ministry but I know God can work all things together for the good of those who love Him.

So please pray for this situation and if anyone would like to donate to our camera fund so that we can make high quality productions, you can donate at my website: https://openairoutreach.wordpress.com/help-support-us/

___________________________

See also my response to the slander and false reports that a heckler published in the campus paper: The Lies of Photographer and Journalist Cory McCoy of Tyler Junior College & The Libel of the Apache Pow Wow

HOW YOU CAN HELP SUPPORT THE MORRELL FAMILY

 photo TheMorrellFamily_zpsa60a8e34.jpg

The financial support we receive from the body of Christ makes it possible for us to continue to live and to travel and preach. All personal gifts from $5 – $500, either monthly or one-time, makes a huge difference. Will you consider being a monthly supporter, giving as little or as much as you can?

Paypal: Click Here

Physical Mail:

Jesse & Krista Morrell

P.O. Box 1527

Lindale TX, 75771

Special thanks in advance to our supporters. THE BATTLE IS ON! We couldn’t do it without you!

Visit Our Website: Click Here
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sinner (Kyle Douglas) Pulls a Gun on Campus Preacher Jesse Morrell

  1. I just found out that the man who pulled the gun on me is named Kyle Douglas. He pulled the gun out of the Chevy truck of April Dawn Franks.

  2. Update: The man who we caught trying to steal our stuff, who I suspected stole my camera, who assaulted me and then also committed aggravated assaulted with a deadly weapon on campus property is named Kyle Douglas. He is from Hawkins. He is a known thief with a rap sheet. He has spent time in jail already.

    Mug shots:

    http://www.mugshotsonline.com/texas/hawkins/kyle-andrew-douglas/67946171

    http://www.bustedmugshots.com/texas/hawkins/kyle-andrew-douglas/69347771

    http://www.bustedmugshots.com/texas/hawkins/kyle-andrew-douglas/69347791

    Documents:

    http://judicial.smith-county.com/Scripts/UVlink.dll/smith_2/WEBSERV/CriminalSearch?action%253Dview%26track%253D279050755

    http://judicial.smith-county.com/Scripts/UVlink.dll/smith_2/WEBSERV/CriminalSearch?action%253Dview%26track%253D280560935

    http://judicial.smith-county.com/JudicialSearch/Scripts/UVlink.dll/smith_2/WEBSERV/JailSearch?action%253Dview%26track%253D280193379

    “Because sentence against an evil work is not executed speedily, therefore the heart of the sons of men is fully set in them to do evil.” Ecc. 8:11

  3. “When the city Officer arrived he said, “I know you. You are the guy who is always causing problems around here.” He was speaking very condescending and irritated. All the Officers were smiling and laughing at me.”

    “And it came to pass, when Ahab saw Elijah, that Ahab said unto him, Art thou he that troubleth Israel? And he answered, I have not troubled Israel; but thou, and thy father’s house, in that ye have forsaken the commandments of the LORD, and thou hast followed Baalim.” 1 Kings 18:17-18

  4. After I walked with Kyle up the road and asked him “where is my camera bag?” He suddently stopped at a vehicle. And I noticed he was putting stuff away into it. When I looked to see what it was it was a small black bag, but he immediately pulled a gun and I quickly forgot about the bag and started thinking about the gun and how I needed to get out of there!

    Without thinking to much about it, I’ve been assuming that he put his back pack into the truck. But looking back at the pictures I realized that he never took his back pack off at all. He kept it on and was wearing it when he pulled the gun.

    So what was it that he put into the truck. Another student there even reported on CBS 19 “”The guy’s up here putting stuff in his truck and Jesse gets in his face and everything,” Pichett said. I never got in his face, but he was putting stuff in his truck! But it wasn’t his back pack. So what was it? I am sure it was my camera bag.

    All this time I was assuming that the camera bag was put into his back pack. But I now suspect that he simply hide it under his coat. It was a warm day that day in the 70’s and I was hot without a coat on. But that man was wearing a full blown winter coat. Why? He was walking around with a hat, sun glasses, coat, and back pack, which all would be ideal for a man walking around stealing stuff.

    And looking back on the pictures, unless Kyle Douglas turns out to have a big protruding belly, he definitely has something behind his coat…..

  5. I have yet to receive word from anyone as to whether or not they are going to indite Kyle Douglas (apparently nobody cares to inform me), but I saw that Kyle posted on his Facebook 18 hours ago that they already told him that they are not going to indite him.

    The purpose of a Grand Jury is not to decide whether a person is innocent or guilty, but only if there is sufficient evidence to prosecute a case. Unfortunately I am the only one who saw him put my camera bag into his truck right before he pulled a gun and pointed it at me. He claimed self defense and completely denied stealing my camera. He said that he felt scared and threatened even though I never made any threats at all.

    I knew that the campus Police and at least the City Police Officer who I first talked to didn’t care about the situation and treated me as if I was at fault. But I just found out that the Prosecutor herself didn’t want the case from the onset.

    Kyle Douglas posted this on his Facebook page:

    “the exact words of the grand jury prosecutor when asked if i could bring photos to illistrate my case was “tell him to bring whatever he needs to make this go away”

    As you can see, they were looking for any possible way to drop the whole case instead of pursue truth and justice. So Kyle Douglas stole my camera, assaulted me, and then pulled a gun on me, and the only one he will have to answer to is God.

    However, the campus and the city are essentially shooting themselves in the foot as I am sure that this is not the last time they will have to deal with Kyle Douglas in their court system, considering his impenitent heart and history in crime. He is a danger to the community and getting away with crime will only encourage him in it and thereby endanger society.

    Despite all of this, I am thinking about going out to the TJC campus on Monday to preach the gospel. I will take my new camera out with me and also a few secret cameras just in case.

    In the days of the Early Church, they faced many physical threats from angry sinners and certainly the Roman government did not seek to protect them but actually persecuted them also.

    “But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.” Acts 20:24

Leave a Reply

